2024 (05 – Little Fiddle time)


So.

Was going to pull the trigger and upgrade my rendering system and start migrating to Blender. Well…

I decided on a loaded Dell G16. I have had 5 personal Dell systems and 2 from work, the Dell just works great. I discovered they were having a 40th Anniversary sale (the day after it ended!) and they sold out of the configuration I wanted. The expected delivery date is May. I’ll just have to wait a little more. (poor me) It was a toss up between the Dell and MSI. The MSI had a less robust processor and I just keep reading that their support, if you ever need it, is poor. I expect this machine will last about as long as the last one I had so I’ll probably be quitting modelling by then.

First world problem.

In the meantime, Trek X work continues.

I keep mussing around with the textures so it has been slow. I’ve settled on the base coat and diffuse levels but have not worked out the specular settings yet. The file is getting big and my poor system is starting to struggle with editing. I do not want to move this to Blender and start over.

Anyway…

~ by cp40guy on March 31, 2024.

Leave a comment