More Lost Cause Modelling


Between past disk crashes, lost backups and – well, to be honest – a lack of proper organization, I have lost and misplaced a ton of CG projects over the years. For example, I have a very nice TOS era station, designed by Masao (G3 class), that I have no idea where it went. It may be on an old disk I have laying around or one of a number of thumb drives I have. Then there is various cloud storage that I have to recall. Oh! Oh! – and CD’s (really).

Sigh.

So I have started trying to collect all this crap and sort through it. Get rid of projects that have been redone, meaning delete, and get them collected and categorized. Then I need to decide what priority they will be worked on, if ever, and try and slog through it. I had the same problem when I physically modeled. I had a whole shelf system in the garage with partial build kits.

I found this odd project folder file on a thumb titled New Trek. It was about a year old and I had no idea what the heck it was. I opened it and did the following quick renders. I have no recollection of this project. I think I was experimenting with Wings3D and creating TOS’ish hulls. Anyway, this what I have been working on (the file organizing) recently. If I find anything else interesting I’ll give a share.

New Trek Ship 01

New Trek Ship 02

~ by cp40guy on August 20, 2015.

2 Responses to “More Lost Cause Modelling”

  1. It kind of looks like the JJPrise, Ambassador class and NX had a weird threesome that resulted in a love child. 😉

  2. Poor guy! The last time I lost anything on a computer was about 10 years ago, when the disk started dying; I lost about a month of work. But thanks to always getting back-up disks and to the Mac’s Time Machine I back up several times a day. Haven’t lost anything for years. The main problem is finding stuff on my computer due to my poor filing practices. Everything is there someplace.

Leave a Reply

 
