Okay, that is a moon!


Final version, really – for sure – um.. yeah. 🙂

I moved and redesigned my city / starbase illumination map. I felt the size was more appropriate and the location now is in a big impact crater. While the big lava plain was nice I just felt the sprawl design for the city was odd.

I did play with building a real starbase mesh and then just render it from the correct view and then map it. Too much work and not enough time.

I also tweaked the displacement map on more time and then adjusted its strength.

Deep Space Dwarf Planet

Deep Space Dwarf Planet

~ by cp40guy on July 1, 2015.

2 Responses to “Okay, that is a moon!”

  1. Are you absolutely certain it’s not a space station? 😛

    Seriously, it looks really good. I like the base in the crater, that’s really cool.

  2. Very nice. I think the “sprawl” version looked a lot more natural and alive, but I agree that for a settlement on an airless moon, centralized and planned makes a whole lot more sense.

Leave a Reply

 
