Storm below


I don’t typically do what lead to the attached render. I entered a contest for Trek inspired artwork on a site (nameless) that asked for the entries to be 100% made by the contestants. The details are not important but I thought I would participate for the fun of it. I understood the request to be for ‘original work’ and inspired by Trek. Something along the lines of ‘lesser known ships’. I have a few of those laying about and are all my own design.

I have my USS McDevitt and wanted to create a second image of it for some time. I thought this would be fun and a motivator to get that image done. I have some nice (and almost everyone has seen) NASA hi-res on orbit images that would just look great with star ships in them. A few hours later (well 6 with render time for the passes and the post editing) I had this.

Don’t ask about the contest.

Star Trek ship in orbit

~ by cp40guy on November 3, 2014.

4 Responses to “Storm below”

  1. I like it. In fact, I’d like to see more views.

  2. Thanks!

    It has a nice side profile and bow on look. I don’t know why I have not played with this more πŸ™‚

  3. Cool render and ship Tom. I had forgot that I have a copy of the McDevitt in my hd. πŸ™‚ She still poses very well after all these years.

  4. Thanks πŸ™‚ I forgot I gave it out!

Leave a Reply

 
