What the Frac (tal)!


Exploring a way to come up with interesting backgrounds I stumbled upon the idea of using fractals. I have seen some amazing 3D versions on DA and had downloaded Mandelbulb 3D to give it a try. Sadly, I really had no idea how they were made in the tool after a fair number of attempts. The tool is crazy loaded with tabs and formula entries.

I ended up watching a few YouTube tutorials over the weekend on the interface (way simpler than it looks) and read a pretty good rendering tutorial on DA. I ended up with a few interesting (and saved) objects that I plan on using. This one is ‘Borgified’ and has a pretty specific use in mind. I have to go back and play with the lighting rig in M3D to get exactly what I want – but this turned out pretty good for a first try.

Thanks for looking – as always!

Borg Station

~ by cp40guy on May 5, 2014.

2 Responses to “What the Frac (tal)!”

  1. Holy kaleidoscope, Batman! 😀

    Looking great. You can definitely do some cool stuff with fractals. I remember downloading software and messing with those a lot a few years ago. I used to use them for my backgrounds in my renders and sometimes just do them as standalone pieces.

  2. Looks great. Tried to use it one time and couldn’t get my head around it.

Leave a Reply

 
