SFM Annex – Update – a ‘Do Over’


A while back (a year ago) Masao sent me an idea for the Star Fleet Museum. In the concept image he attached I noted an expansion of the Annex that accommodated all the ships listed on display. The new version differed from the original with the additional of a docking ring and new center section. I resolved to adjust my model to reflect these changes.

And then, as you all know, I wandered onto other things.

So I am back working to finish projects I had promised. I opened the station up and made the fixes. I also realized that I could make this easier to texture if I made some minor changes to existing parts. I broke the docking ring down to individual spokes which will allow for a clean and larger (quality) texture. The outer most (cap) dome was simplified to remove the dozens of small port holes. They are lost on a model like this and just make it harder to work with. Same for the center section that comprises the main hanger dome. I also hollowed out the interior and added doors and an internal structure.

Here is the redone model waiting to go into virtual paint.

Star Fleet Museum

Star Fleet Museum

Star Fleet Museum

As always – mesh work in Wings 3D, imported into 3D Max.

~ by cp40guy on June 23, 2013.

3 Responses to “SFM Annex – Update – a ‘Do Over’”

  1. That’s looking really good so far, dude. 🙂

  2. I’m wondering, Thomas, whether you think those docking arms are too big. They were probably taken from a larger Vanguard station. Do you think they overpower this station with smaller end caps?

    • Good question. I have been trying to do a better job with scale and working out measurements (for windows and texture detail). Let me look at that and see whatnoptions would look like.

Leave a Reply

 
