Not inspired by…


Here is a project that has been sitting on my hard drive for a few weeks. It was during my spurt of Wings3D experimentation with poly-smoothing objects.

My actual inspiration came from ‘Enterprise‘ Vulcan ships with their ringed warp drive. The idea being the ringed assembly is really a more efficient design and adopted or maybe reintroduced by the Federation.

I know there is a canon ringed ship – I had been staring at Vulcan ships at EAS so that was that :).

I thought I would do a few quick renders given the warp drive story in the news (see previous post). This was a bugger to export – turns out a Wings3D tube is not liked by MAX. I had to break out the components of the ring to import and convert it to MAX format. I know, you don’t care.

Ring Warp Drive
Ring Warp Drive
Ring Warp Drive

~ by cp40guy on September 20, 2012.

2 Responses to “Not inspired by…”

  1. I suggest you raise the hull (lengthen the pylon) so that it’s at the center of the ring. That way the main part of the ships mass is within the warp field.

  2. NASA seems to think the ring will work. 😉

    Looking great so far, bro. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
