Best viral so far for Prometheus


The robot on Prometheus is named David – HA! If you don’t get it listen to his voice when you watch this and you will!

My wife was reading the Wall Street Journal this morning. She said “Okay, this is creepy and I don’t get it. What is this do you think?” She turns the page to me and it is a full page ad for the David 8. I said, cool it’s for Prometheus. She had no idea what that was. I said she does not listen to me to which she said “huh?”.

~ by cp40guy on April 17, 2012.

10 Responses to “Best viral so far for Prometheus”

  1. That was good. This movie better not suck or heads will roll.

    • Ridley has this whole viral thing down. You are right, he has done such a good job at building anticipation that it better be like Avatar! Well, I am one of the few people that thought Avatar was okay – so bad example.

      So, yeah – better not suck!

  2. It’s probably going to suck. I just have that feeling. It’s not going to live up to the hype. I hope I’m wrong. I’m definitely digging the viral vids, though.

  3. He made Blade Runner. He made Alien. That’s enough to give me confidence this will be good. I also like the Duelists, Gladiator, Kingdom of Heaven, American Gangster, Blackhawk Down, Thelma & Louise, Matchstick Men, and parts of Legend. Of course, he also made Robin Hood, which sucked.

    So, evil genius, what about this one gives you a whiff of suckage?

    • I actually like Robin Hood. (even if they did fudge a few historical facts, like the time and location of King Richard’s death) I love Alien and I like Gladiator a lot. Black Hawk Down was just OK. Plus, I used to be in the Army and knew a couple people who were there who said they got it wrong in the movie, so that ruined it for me. I haven’t seen any of the rest of that stuff. I actually like more of his younger brother’s work than I do his.

      However, my statement has nothing to do with his work to date. Any director can make bad films, no matter what the rest of their body of work is like. It has to do more with the fact that this movie has major hype surrounding it. My concern is that the hype is huge and it’s going to get us worked up and then the movie isn’t going to live up to our expectations. It’s possible to over-hype stuff, IMO, and it sometimes can have a negative effect. Or, it could be they’re hyping the crap out of this thing because they fear it’s not as good as its predecessors (well, at least Alien and Aliens) and are worried it won’t do well. It’s hard to say.

      I do sincerely hope I’m wrong, because this is one of only a few films I’m looking forward to this year. But, we’ll see what happens. I’m still going to see it, even if it gets blasted in the reviews.

  4. Ignore the hype. Don’t read spoilers. Stay within your head.

    Also, love your neighbor and eat lots of fiber.

    • Damn, That’s what I’ve been doing wrong all this time. I thought it was love your fiber and eat your neighbor. Explains all gas. 😀

    • How are you supposed to ignore the hype when your friends keep posting hype videos on their blogs? 😛

      @Robert: Funny, I was going to type pretty much the same thing until I saw your comment. I guess twisted minds think a lot, bro. 😀

  5. Well, I live next to a fish farm, and my wife is made of straw (long story). I’m set either way.

  6. evil-genius: Obviously, you gotta get new friends. Or at least don’t read their blogs.

Leave a Reply

 
