My Cracker turned green


Here is a ‘just green’ version of Romulan Cracker. This was an easy tweak and is the result of a comment, by the master (Masao), on what would an all green Cracker look like. Not to bad at all.

I also took and poked at the EPS file Masao provided of his BOP decal. It ‘works’ but just. I have to push the nacelle part around a little more. I don’t have a grid or flat texture map for the nacelle – I just use the basic cylinder map in MAX and did not bother with an ‘unwrap’.

Star Trek - Romulan with Bird of Prey
Star Trek - Romulan green

~ by cp40guy on February 28, 2012.

9 Responses to “My Cracker turned green”

  1. Looks good but I kind of like the other way more.

  2. I agree, the grey one looks better. But maybe darken up the grey slightly?

  3. I’m gonna start handing out paint brushes 🙂

    • Oh, I’m fully aware that I’m the clueless critic making suggestions about stuff he doesn’t fully understand. 😉

  4. That looks pretty swell! The half green/half gray paint job was my lame attempt to bridge the all-green wartime ships with the all-gray TOS era BOP. Of course, I doubt such a missing link paint scheme would occur in real life. The USN navy didn’t have regulations that planes should be gloss dark blue in front and flat grey/unpainted behind (but I have seen pictures of such planes that received spare parts).

  5. For example, this “Blue Tail Fly” USN Panther: http://www.cybermodeler.com/aircraft/f9f/images/F9F-5_VF153_BlueTail.jpg

  6. I really like the looks of this design and the coloring. It would be nice to use this ship in my TOS series. 😉

    Steve

  7. What kind of TOS series do you have? Book, webcomic, fan film?

  8. I like it to much! Your choice for the colors fits very well with the ship.

Leave a Reply

 
