An Apollo update – Honor Harrington Universe pt-2


I continue to play around with textures utilizing just masks. With the simple image below, I have updated the hammer section of the Apollo class cruiser. The engines, panel lines, decals (red stuff) and displacement (that would be bumps) are three masks. It took a while to get the hierarchy correct in the MAX texture tool. If I had bothered to open the manual (GASP!) I would have saved time.

The big win for me is to save space. In my first pass, way back when, I had actually created textures. They were just too big and bogged down rendering. Most of the detail was lost in any event if you wanted any significant portion to show. Rendering now is quicker and I can utilize the same core texture with simply swapping the masks out.

I did a lot of looking at subs and large ships (in photos and real life) and you just don’t see a lot of Sci-Fi panel contrast. On subs and modern warships panel lines fade away at any distance. Given these Harrington ships are built a couple of thousand years from now I can assume better manufacturing processes :).

Anyhow – new image.

Honor Harrington Apollo class

~ by cp40guy on September 7, 2011.

2 Responses to “An Apollo update – Honor Harrington Universe pt-2”

  1. I don’t know, it looks kind of small to be a cruiser. 😛

    Seriously, the textures look good. I don’t know if they look right for this universe or not, but they look good to me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
