Comet color


I have made some headway on the re-color of the UES Comet. Again, this was a request on an older model to put the UES colors (see Star Fleet Museum) on the ship. I had previously done the ship in a whimsical ‘Federation Express – aka FedEx’ version a number of years ago. After reassembling the model I have put the main textures together. The images below do not reflect specular maps, those will come later, and some of the smaller details that still need to be done.

The main textures let me know how it is coming along. Not seen here is the ships name ‘Comet’ is fixed to not taper down due to the spherical mapping applied to the hull. No Chris, I still won’t model in the registry – I am too lazy :)! I found a somewhat serious mesh error on the pylon and will fix that today. Have the small texture maps to do as well. Should be rendering this one up in a few days. I also modified this ship to have a full shuttle bay, do not know if I’ll use it though (that lazy thing again).

UES Comet

Click Me 🙂

UES Comet

Or, click me 🙂

UES Comet

Me too!

~ by cp40guy on May 24, 2011.

6 Responses to “Comet color”

  1. No modeled registry? Wuss! 😉

    Seriously, a lot of people don’t do that. I do it mostly because the texture size limits in my software ensure that it will look like crap if I texture it. Plus, you can get as close as you want to it and it won’t lose quality (you’ll just have segmentation. ;))

    The textures look awesome. I find it interesting that you don’t do the spec maps at the same time as the color maps.

  2. I like it!

  3. Looks great, Thomas! I especially like that front underside view, it really emphasizes how crazy Comet looked compared to later Starfleet ships.

Leave a Reply

 
