Museum – You didn’t! Yes, I did!


Yep, I did it. Just not satisfied with the texture treatment and decided to start over. It is a curse. I have spent a couple of weeks looking through old texture files, tutorials and staring at amazing textures made by really good people. My conclusion? Start over.

This time I think I am happy with the results, really. At least… Well, my wife likes them. She is sort of my texture barometer. She pops her head into the office, now and then, while I am meshing or texture painting. She’ll throw a comment like ‘What’s that supposed to be?’ or my favorite ‘Is that a rotten orange?” and I know it’s time to reevaluate (i.e. – start over cuz that sucks). When she actually tosses me the occasional praise I figure I am on to something. I got one of those after a weekend (of rain) with a template for a new saucer treatment.

So, here is my final ( 😀 ) texture treatment. Well, reapplied elements but I am on to a real completion now.

Star Trek Museum model

click for larger view

Star Trek Museum model

Click for larger view

~ by cp40guy on January 21, 2011.

6 Responses to “Museum – You didn’t! Yes, I did!”

  1. That texture treatment looks great. It’s very TOS-ish. 😀

  2. I agree, this one is a definite improvement. The edges of the panels are a bit more subtle, and the greeblies on the upper surface don’t look as “painted on” as in the previous previous samples.

  3. Thanks. Those painted on greebles were real 😀 D’Oh!

  4. Looks fantastic. Really looks good.

  5. Looks very good Thomas!

  6. I love it!

    Steve

Leave a Reply

 
