Aztec’n


I am experimenting, trying to find a ‘universal’ Aztec style pattern I can use on a ship. I was inspired by Tobias Richter’s work on his most recent USS Kelvin from the movie Star Trek. I downloaded the model, cannot use as it is in a newer MAX version, and looked at his beautiful texture work. He uses a pattern that works pretty well not matter where it gets applied. So I thought I would try one. I am not even in the ball park but like the results so far. I think that this can be a good base to apply overlays (either on the model or in Photo Shop) to create section specific textures on a model.

Here is what I have so far:

Aztec Sample

So far (with specular example)

I have not really applied this to anything yet but have a good idea as to how it should look. It is a PSD file so I can always tweak ๐Ÿ˜€

~ by cp40guy on September 28, 2010.

One Response to “Aztec’n”

  1. Someone at SciFi-Meshes did a conversion of Tobias’ ship to Blender, you might be able to download that mesh and Blender and convert it to something your version of Max can load. (Besides, Tobias uses Maya anyway, it says so on his site. ;))

    Nice work on the Aztec, it looks good. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

 
