Honor Harrington cruiser pt6


Am I ever going to finish this? Okay, that’s all my projects – but seriously. I have been going back and forth on this mainly due to ‘details’. I really was flummoxed on what to add and have not been happy with anything. I just finished the new book (Mission of Honor) and some of the passages during one (very one sided) battle gave me some minor inspiration. Also, I have been looking at numerous submarines and modern warships and see less and less clutter of weapons and instrumentation.

So, I have only added items that seem to fit in with (loose) descriptions from the books. I removed some stuff and added back various RADAR and LIDAR mounts for the missile tubes and point defense weapons. Some apparent tube mounts have no sensor pads because they are either heavy LASER or GRASER mounts. I have also added primary sensors and ECM stations. No idea what I will do with the docking bays yet.

Textures will round out the subtle details and I think I can start that now.

Here she is as I head her to the ‘paint booth‘.

Honor Harrington cruiser

Widgets and such done

Honor Harrington cruiser

Full length view

Honor Harrington cruiser

Sense of scale - see reddish dude

~ by cp40guy on August 25, 2010.

3 Responses to “Honor Harrington cruiser pt6”

  1. Nice work, dude. I look forward to seeing it painted. 🙂

  2. God! It looks great.
    I’m only second book in (i know, late to the party) but this really helps me feel more in touch with the novel.
    Thanks for all your hard work, and I hope when you are done, we can see a full image and possibly a video fly-by. I know it is asking alot, but this is the best image I’ve seen out there.

    • Thanks! Yep, plan on finishing this sooner than later. Hope to do a number of ships from the two main factions plus some Andermani. Book 2? You have a long way to go – enjoy.

Leave a Reply

 
