Honor Harrington cruiser pt5


Minor status update.

I am noodling over hull details and so on, this has slowed down the project. I have been going over notes, published online by Weber, and book passages that describe ship details. Most of it is contradictory (in my ever so lazy opinion). His ships are either A) very smooth and sleek or B) covered with crap that would make a super star destroyer blush.

As this is really my ‘interpretation’ of what I have imagined reading in the books, I am torn between reconciling the issue or say ‘WTF! It’s my model!’. Inevitably I will get all kinds of ‘you missed this’ or ‘you did this wrong’ type of comments. Oh well.

Additionally, I am playing with textures because I have seemed to have completely lost the ability to make render-able textures. I don’t know why but I am seeking help for it πŸ˜€

Oh, yeah – update:
(as always – click for larger)

Honorverse ship

Widgets and stuff

Honorverse ship

Closer view of center section

~ by cp40guy on August 11, 2010.

5 Responses to “Honor Harrington cruiser pt5”

  1. I sympathize with you. It’s hard to translate a design that’s only described in text, no matter how detailed the description is. After a time, you’ll probably just have to do what you want on some parts and tell anyone who complains to build their own. πŸ˜‰

    I’m not familiar at all with the novels, so it looks great to me. πŸ˜€

  2. Very nice! I’ve recently bought the Saganami Island Tactical Simulator, which is the space combat board/wargame set in the Honorverse (canonical — Mr. Weber was involved in its design). It comes with a “ship book” that includes descriptions of the various ship classes as well as a B&W vanity shot for each class. From what I’ve seen, your CG renders very closely matches the illustrations in the ship book. Well done!

    (I stumbled upon this page via Google, so I haven’t looked to see if you’ve gotten further on with this model, but had to comment)

Leave a Reply

 
