Cut and cut and…


Cut! I find more ways to enjoy Wings every day. I have never been able to do good edge cuts in 3D Max (old version) so I seldom do it. However, as in my previous post, I have decided to try on this mesh. In Wings I can select all my edges and simply do a quick bevel, null extrude and a negative ‘bump’. Easy as pie. (Okay, some traps but avoidable.) I have to plan most of the panel lines in advance as well to get the best results. Given I don’t do this I’m pretty pleased with what I have so far. Max also has to like it for smoothing but I have a handle (so far) on that too. I also added a saucer docking port.

More cutting up: (all clickable for 1024×768 view)

Hull cuts

Main hull cuts

Long view

Average close view - smooth

Lower view

Along the bottom

Saucer

Saucer center window cut

~ by cp40guy on May 31, 2010.

2 Responses to “Cut and cut and…”

  1. How is it for cutting windows? I see you already have some on there. I’ve fiddled with Wings but I can’t get the hang of it. I keep looking for advanced tools that commercial software (and some freeware) has but they’re not there.

    The model looks great. There’s no substitute for modeled details. 🙂

    • Window cutting is fairly easy however… Since I export the model to 3D Max I have to consider applying a smoothing modifier to the model. If I am not careful I will get ugly surfaces once it is in Max. I just make simple corner bevels and I am okay. If I want ovals or port holes I am out of luck.

      It took me a while to get the hang of wings and I know I don’t know about 70% of what it can do.

Leave a Reply

 
