Interlude


So, my ‘tangent’ project is slipping away from fun and into ‘texture hell’ at the moment. It’s just not working out as I would like so I have stepped away in hopes of some inspiration that will let me finish it.

In the meantime I have kept Wings 3D open and continue to ‘doodle’ away on other projects. The Hyperion refresh has received some additional details externally and some new shuttle bay details too. The images below show some add on internal doors that actually have hallways. Possibly I could see some internal camera shots looking out onto the deck. I know there are more of these popping up on the web as of late – where do you think I get my ideas? 🙂

Hyperion 4

Interior with doors (click for larger view)

Hyperion 5

Other side with larger door (click for larger view)

I have also moved along on another of my never ending Honor Harrington projects. I have started a Republic of Haven cruiser. I have adopted design elements from the book covers to be used to differentiate Haven ships from those of Manticore.

Haven cruiser 1

Front top perspective (click for larger view)

Haven cruiser 2

Aft bottom perspective (click for larger view)

~ by cp40guy on April 7, 2010.

3 Responses to “Interlude”

  1. No more tangent? I’m kinda bummed. On the other hand, that shuttlebay is looking nice. I must have missed the pics from inside of shuttlebays circling around, I’ve really only seen one. (I guess I need to hit more forums) I’m looking forward to seeing what you come up with. 🙂

    As for the Honor Harrington project, I don’t know what the final piece is supposed to look like, so I’ll say it’s looking good. 🙂

    • I open the PSD file and stare, and stare, and… If I could get a texture that I am happy with I’ll finish it. I am not a big fan of ‘Aztec’ pattern textures yet always start with something similar. I just don’t see how or why, in the future, we would build big spaceships with little panels all over them.

      Look at ships and planes – just not done.

      • Because it looks cool when the ship flies by and the light hits the panels just right. 😉 I dunno why we do it either, but I Aztec everything (even things that shouldn’t be Aztecced.)

Leave a Reply

 
