Hyperion pt 1


Okay – really now. I don’t seem to have the ability to stay on focus. I was messing around in Wings 3D again, tweaking a bridge mesh for my current (unnamed ship type) project. I somehow got it into my head that I wanted to redo a very old TOS style ship I built that was originally designed by Paul Cargile. You can see this over at the Star Fleet museum.

While this is the ‘Mark 2’ version it really is the original design. There is also a variation (different nacelles) that Masao created which is the Mark 1 and fits this design into his pre-TOS universe. Anyway, after a couple of hours I had just about everything done with the exception of a few parts. I’ll eventually import this into 3D Max and clone the duplicate parts, UV map it and so on.

Hyperion 01

Perspective view in Wings 3D

Hyperion 02

Lower perspective front view

Hyperion 03

Building in the shuttle deck (not on my original)

~ by cp40guy on February 24, 2010.

5 Responses to “Hyperion pt 1”

  1. Looks good so far. This is definitely one of those designs that looks better in 3D than it does in 2D. Also, I like the fact that you’re going to the extra effort of building a shuttlebay. 🙂

  2. Let’s see the shuttle. 🙂

  3. Almost all of the ships from the Star Fleet Museum look better in 3D. This is looking good and as soon as I finish a few more ships I plan on doing some of those ships.

Leave a Reply

 
